Within an event, you can manage your attendee list and invite attendees to the event. This article explains how this works.
What does the Attendee list contain?
In the event menu, below Attendees, you can manage your event attendees and the groups they are in. This list can be used to restrict access to the event, send invitation emails, and create groups for access restriction or targeted news messages.
Users who sign into an event are added to the event’s Attendee List by default. Alternatively, you can add attendees beforehand. This is useful when the event access needs to be restricted to attendees only. Only attendees on the list will be able to access the event. When a new user gets added to the attendee list of an event, that user is also automatically added to the community.
Below the tab Attendees, you can find a list of all attendees that were either added through the CMS or signed in to your app already. A user is identified by its email address, which needs to be unique: two users in the same community cannot have the same email address to sign in with. The email address associated with the user account cannot be changed.
All users on the attendee list can be added to these groups. Open the user details and click on the Groups field. Select the group immediately, or start typing the group's name to filter the groups being shown in the list. You can also bulk-assign users to a group by selecting them in the list with the tick box and clicking Assign to a group.
Note! Groups created within another event or in the community, are also listed here. Therefore, we advise adding an event indication to your group name. For example: "On-site Attendees Annual Congress 2021"
Adding and importing users to the attendee list
Click the button + Add attendee to manually add a new attendee. Enter their first, and last names, their email addresses and optionally groups, and click Add. If you tick Create another, the user will be created when clicking Add, and the window will remain open so you can directly add another one.
You can also import users from an Excel sheet. From the window that opens when clicking Import, first, download the template. After you filled out the template, save it on your computer and import it through Select completed template: choose the template and click Import. All users in the sheet are now added to the list. Optionally, you can directly assign users to the imported group.
Please note that if you try to import users that already exist (meaning the email address is already in the list) those won't be duplicated and their first and last names cannot be overwritten.
When attendees create an account from the invite email, the fields First name, Last name and Email are filled in with whatever you have filled in here.
Read this article to learn more about the Attendee Sync.
View event attendees and status
Below the tab Attendees, you can find a list of all users that were either added through the CMS or signed in and installed the event. For each user, you can see their first and last names, the groups they belong to, and their statuses. There are five different statuses, indicated with icons at the right of the table:
- Reported: this person was reported by another app user;
- Blocked: this person is blocked by you or a team member;
- Invited, event not installed: this person has been invited but not yet installed the event. You could filter on this status to send out Reminders;
- Event Installed: this person has installed the event (not invite related);
- Event not installed: this person has not installed the event (not invite related).
- Account created: this person has created an account in the app;
- Account not created: this person has been added through the CMS but has not yet created an account in the app;
- Account to be verified: this person started with the account creation but did not verify the email address yet.
You can filter on these statuses, for example, to see all reported users in one glance, by selecting the status in the filters above.
Once a user has been invited and installed the event, the status of this user will be changed to "installed", thus when reminders need to be sent, filtering the invited users only, will give you the results of all users who were invited but not yet installed the event.
For each user, you can see their details when you click on them in the table. You can edit these - but as this is data users have entered, it is not advisable to do so.
In the History table at the bottom of the page, you can see their status changes and the events they have installed. Please note that the install date of events is not always accurate, as, for apps that do not support this feature yet, the date is not registered. It is therefore set to the date the account was created.
Verify user's accounts manually
When a user signs in to the app for the first time, he or she can create a user account with their name, last name, and email address. Once these are submitted, the system will send a verification email so the user can enable their account. At the same time, the user is added to the community and the user profile will indicate that the account is not yet verified. The account is verified, thus enabled, when the user clicks the link in the email they have received. Only once this step is completed, the user will be able to log in to the app.
When, for some reason, the user can not verify him or herself, the verification can also be done manually through the community list. To do so, open the user profile and click the Verify manually button top right. After you have verified manually, the user needs to refresh the web page (web app) or relaunch the app (mobile app) in order to sign in.
The verification request does not have an expiration date. If the Verify manually button is not shown on the user profile page, this can mean two things:
the initial account creation has not been successful.
the user has already verified the email address through the verification link. You could then ask the user to refresh the page (web app) or relaunch the app (mobile app).
You can see the user's account status at the bottom of the user profile page.
Delete and block users
After clicking on a specific user 3 dots icon will be available on the top right to delete users. Please note that they will remain in your app community. if you wish to delete them completely, this can be done only on the community level. Users can also not be blocked from an event, but only from the app. Check the article on how to manage your app community to read how to do so. You can still see in the attendee list who has been reported, but this could also have happened in another event.